Skip navigation links
About Us
Skip navigation links
Inside the FVRD
Skip navigation links
Skip navigation links
News, Events & Notices
Skip navigation links
Inside the FVRD
Skip navigation links
Agendas and Minutes
Community Planning
Aggregate Pilot Project
Cultus Lake Community and Park Plan
Deroche Local Area Plan
Hemlock Valley
Lake Errock Geotechnical Study
Popkum-Bridal Falls Official Community Plan Update
Riparian Areas Regulation Development Permit Areas
Development Approvals
Freedom of Information and Privacy
Kinder Morgan - Trans Mountain Pipeline Project
Legal Notices & Tender Information
Strategic Planning & Initiatives
Stop The Incinerator
Aggregate Pilot Project
Home > Inside the FVRD > Community Planning > Aggregate Pilot Project


Please visit our Frequently Asked Questions page for more information.

The FVRD Aggregate Pilot Project (APP) was initiated by the Minister of State for Mines in 2004 in response to persistent and intense conflicts surrounding aggregate operations in the Fraser Valley Regional District.

The purpose of the project is to develop a set of recommendations to industry, local governments and the provincial government for new approaches that significantly reduce conflicts and secure a long term, economic, stable supply.

More specifically, it aims to:

  • improve understanding of aggregate supply and demand;
  • foster better communication between MEMPR, FVRD and industry;
  • implement a "RED-YELLOW-GREEN" approach to permitting aggregate operations, including identifying lands suitable for aggregate uses and lands not suitable for aggregate uses;
  • ensure a sustainable supply of aggregate for the long term;
  • develop a new approach for decision-making respecting aggregate management; and,
  • provide a model that could be used in other jurisdictions in the Province.

The project is sponsored by the Minister of State for Mining, the Honourable Randy Hawes.  It is guided by a committee comprised of representatives from:

  • Aggregate Producers of British Columbia
  • City of Abbotsford
  • City of Chilliwack
  • District of Hope
  • District of Kent
  • District of Mission
  • Ministry of Energy, Mines & Petroleum Resources; and
  • Fraser Valley Regional District