Skip navigation links
About Us
Skip navigation links
Inside the FVRD
Skip navigation links
Skip navigation links
News, Events & Notices
Skip navigation links
About Us
Skip navigation links
Board of Directors
Committees and Commissions
District Statistics
Electoral Areas
Fraser Valley Aboriginal Relations Committee
First Nations Resource Guide
Treaty Negotiations
Mandate, Role, and Purpose
Member Municipalities
Services Overview
FVRD Board Meeting Webcast
Treaty Negotiations


The role of the Fraser Valley Aboriginal Relations Committee with regard to treaty neogtiations is to represent local government interests at the treaty table.  Treaty negotiations are a tripartite process involving the Government of Canada, the Province and the respective First Nation.  During negotiations, the FVARC provides advice to the Province.  The Province in turn is responsible for representng those local government interests at the treaty table.

The committee represents the interests of the municipalities of Abbotsford, Chilliwack, Mission, Kent, Hope, Village of Harrison Hot Springs and the seven electoral areas of the Fraser Valley Regional District. A commissioner and staff person from the Cultus Lake Park Board are also appointed as observers, as are representatives from the Metro Vancouver Aboriginal Relations Committee (MVARC).  Each jurisdiction represented on the FVARC may appoint two political appointees with voting rights, two alternates and a non-voting staff appointee. These appointments are for a one-year period.

Currently, the FVARC sits at the In-SHUCK-ch Nation and Stó:lō Nation treaty tables.

In-SHUCK-ch Nation

 FVARC Table Representative  Director Allan Jackson
 In-SHUCK-ch Nation Negotiator  Gerard Peters (EPPA)
 Canada Chief Negotiator  Jim Barkwell
 Province of BC Chief Negotiator  Colleen Davis

On March 16, 2009, the Province and In-SHUCK-ch Nation completed their negotiations toward a treaty and on March 16, 2009 initialed an agreement of understanding on the substantive issues of a final agreement.  BC and In-SHUCK-ch Nation reached an agreement on all elements that fall within provincial jurisdiction, including provincial Crown lands and many governance authorities.  Treaty discussions will continue between the In-SHUCK-ch and Canada with the purpose of resolving outstanding issues.  

The In-SHUCK-ch Nation is currently in Stage 5 of the treaty negotiation process.

Stó:lō Nation

 FVARC Table Representative  Director Al Stobbart
 Stó:lō Nation Negotiator  Chief Joe Hall
 Canada Chief Negotiator  Corrinne Bell
 Province of BC Chief Negotiator  Corinne Shepheard

The Stó:lō Xwexwilmexw Treaty Association (SXTA) was incorporated in 2007 on behalf of the seven Stó:lō First Nations that agreed to move ahead with treaty.  SXTA comprises the following communities:  Aitchelitz, Leq'á:mel, Popkum, Skawahlook, Skowkale, Tzeachten and Yakweakwioose.

Sto:lo Nation is currently in Stage 4 of the treaty negotiation process.

Yale First Nation

On February 5, 2010, the Chief Negotiators of Yale First Nation, British Columbia and Canada initialed the Yale Final Agreement.

Currently, the Yale First Nation is awaiting the ratification of the Final Agreement by Canada and the Province of British Columbia.